School Options

Hey guys, I’m a senior about to graduate with a degree in engineering science. I started off studying mechanical engineering, it kicked my ass and I found I didn’t really have a passion for it, and I really wanted to be a car designer. So I took some art courses, made a portfolio, and I got into the bachelor program at CCS. I’m stoked, but…

The job market is kinda shit. And CCS is $$$$. So, my parents suggested that I pick up where I left off with mechanical, take an extra couple of years, work my ass off and finish that degree to have something a little more legitimate than engineering science to fall back on if I find myself years down the road graduating from CCS and not having job offers. They also think a “real” engineering degree may help me as a designer as well.

I guess my big problem is that 2.5 more years of engineering school will still cost money, and I’ll be like 30 years old (at least) by the time I graduate from CCS and I’m ready for a job.

Other options might include:

Pratt Masters in ID-still waiting to hear back, maybe not the most direct shot into car design, but still, I’d be interested in other design jobs too, so maybe more versatility here

Cincinnati-again, haven’t heard back yet, but I think if I’d did their trans design bachelors, I might also be able to double major in mech e as well

Try to get a job with my degree-it’s geared more towards business, so I would probably look at consulting or analyst positions and try to save money for design school later. Meh.

I suppose all of this is more bitching than actual questions, but opinions are appreciated!

ps, what to people with transportation design degrees do if they don’t get placements in the automotive sector?