Saving SBP files as JPG files?

I’m new to Sketchbook Pro (and new to all sketching/drawing/painting software), and I’m trying to figure out how to print my drawings on photopaper at the local photo place. My TIFF files are over 2MB but when I save them in a format the photo places can use (JPG) the file size drops to under 200KB, making the largest high quality print I can make being a 4x6. I’ve tried increasing the canvas and image size and the TIFF file gets over 7MB, but the JPG still gets saved under 200KB.

Any advice is appreciated.

Hello and welcome to the boards.

JPEG is not good for printing images because it is Lossy. If your printer is asking for JPEG (???) you can click the options button in the save dialog box and ratchet the quality up to ‘Best’ I’m surprised they wouldn’t accept a TIFF

Image size in SBP is very important to understand as it defaults to a “screen” size for new images. This is because the software is designed to be light and quick for a digital workflow, not to create finished printed outputs (usually). For this reason, new documents are 100 DPI, usually shy of 8"x11" or 1024x768px (a very common monitor resolution, used to be anyway)

Anyone will tell you that to get a good quality print, 300 DPI is the minimum. Your 4x6 print is a default SBP document at 200DPI. In order to get a larger image, you need to scale it up (image → image size) which will add pixels and make the image fuzzy or start over with a larger canvas.

When you create a new image, change the image size to something like 3000 x 2400 px Then create your image and it will be larger and crispy. Sorry this is bad news :frowning: , any questions?

-B

Thanks for the welcome.

The online sites like Shutterfly and Snapfish only accept JPG, so that’s what spurred my questions.