San Fran here I come

Looking to apply for companies like ONE & CO, ASTRO and FUSEPROJECT. I have no work experience, but strong design sense and process skills to back it up. Any recommendations? (Skill emphasis, interview, mailer etc.)

Let see what you got. Those com are hard to get into, esp w/o exp.

one & co already have who they’re lookin’ for. Astro is not hiring and Fuse- well good luck to you. They’re a bit elitest - hard to get into. Good luck to you - I’m in the search too - just haven’t found the right opportunity.

Those places have tons of applicants who are experienced and can’t get in. It will be a real fluke if they hired you to be quite honest. There are few jobs in the ID field, San Fran is one of the most competitive places even for experienced, seasoned designers with killer portfolios. I don’t know your work but in general if you do not have expereince or strong skill sets you won’t stand a chance.

Check out these Coroflot portfolios…these are all guys who have been hired by Astro over the past year or so. It will at least give you and idea of where you stand. I know for a fact they all have more stuff in their folio’s that kill the stuff they show online.

full time:
www.coroflot.com/mattday
www.coroflot.com/hughes980
www.coroflot.com/dkrieger

and for internship:
www.coroflot.com/npartridge

Thats some really work. He’s right unless you have a portfolio like that don’t bother wasting your postage/fedex money.

networking is really important

don’t let the negative energy get you down, man. go for it! If it doesn’t pan out don’t just sit on your portfolio, constantly revise and improve your work.
I worked at one of those firms and and turned down an offer from the “elitist” one, it is not impossible…good luck.