sampler - feedback

Hi,

I’m a recent grad (well Jun 04) of Product Design from DMU, Leicester, UK.

Since then I’ve came close on a few jobs, done three stints of freelance work (2 modemaking, 1 sketching) but not found the elusive permanent job (not that there’s many to be had to start with). Overall my printed portfolio has went done well, with a few positive suggestions (addition of packaging & furniture)

I currently have three portfolios:

full blown A3 printed
A4 bound sampler (about 8 pages)
and this one:

http://www.lanarkms.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/paul/samples.pdf

A sampler/teaser that I e-mail to companies/agencies upon request.

Any feedback would be really helpful.

Paul

juicy photography gives an awesome initial impression. Felt like the emailer ended on a whimper though with the sub-par sketches. Good model-making. The sketch lines on the CAD model did not really add any more information. Is it necessary?Great graphic layout

sketching over model. 100% necessary IMO, as the rendering looked extremally dry. I have the product and packaging prototypes which I really should get photographed to replace this image.

sub-par sketching. Again probably not the best work I have, as my printed portfolio got me a freelance sketch job. I’ll change this in due course.

Thanks for the response. :slight_smile:

complete ditto on this. dude, you got to put the BEST stuff in the teaser, otherwize it’s not a teaser. Great photography, the stylized drawings on the resistance workout piece are much higher grade than the sketch page. Axe it or replace it.

Thanks for posting the good though, always a tough thing to do, nice stuff over all.

I hear you on the sketching over the rendering, there is a really nice example of this by Gray Holland of Alchemy Labs in the book Return on Innovation, I was unable to locate a pic for you though.