Salary for entry-level furniture designer

I posted a similar question to this one in the section entitled “furniture” but got no responses, so I will rephrase my question and summarize it as well:

What is the expected entry-level salary for (residential) furniture designers these days and what do some of the upper level folks make?

I ask because I’m switching from ID to a strictly furniture design degree at Kendall next year.

funny, I’ve been thinking the same thing. I’m in my final year @ CCA and I’m now starting to figure things out. The great thing about furniture design/making is that the field is very wide where you can get into soul sucking positions to positions that actually feed the soul. I worked as a summer intern last year at a place that was soul sucking(they had a very set way of doing things, they used questionable labor to get the stuff made, etc) and soul feeding(i was able to get a few designs out). As a paid intern I made around $15 an hour. The senior designer made about 35k. This in no way reflects the way things are because he managed to put himself in a position where he didnt sell himself hard enough and the company was very much about cutting every corner. To make it as a furniture designer(in my opinion) you have to have a few things on lock down.

It’s great to know how to use solidworks to render pieces but its also critical to know as many other programs as possible. Alias, 3d MAX, AutoCAD, Rhino and even sketchup seem to open a few doors. I also think that its good to get outside of the techno weeny world of FURNITURE MAKING. I’m trying to get as much art education on my side so that I can have the element of critical thought on my side. It’s good to know how to make stuff but it seems that a lot of schools are prepping furniture students to become STUDIO FURNITURE makers and not people who understand the other parts of the furniture world.