salary for a designer in china

Hi everyone!

i just want to ask some advices on the salary i should ask if i’m going to work in China. I have 3 years of experience.

any other advices

Thank you

Hong Kong?
Shanghai?
Guongdong?
?

in Jinhua : 2 hours south of shangai

Whatever it is, its gonna be low.

Average Income in the USA $45 000
In China $900

Which is worse?

Junior Designer, Shanghai = US $500 a month

good enough to live on!

WOW, that’s like working at Walmart for 8 days.

FYI. Walmart has lots of benefits. Much better than the average design outifit. Don’t make fun of Walmart. Every dollar spent in the US, $.07 of that is from Walmart.

Also you dumbasses, you can’t just look at salaries alone. $45K vs $500. Its all about cost of living too. Its so low in China. Either way you won’t get a share of the pie if a) you’re not Chinese b) you don’t speak Chinese c) you refer China as the ‘Orient’

Some earns $ 100 a month, some earn $ 2,000 a month.

I worked for walmart 8 years while in school and while looking for first real design gig. from sales clerk to assistant manager, was actually refussed a home office POP and Fixture design job becuase “We do not hire from with in to fill technical/professional level openings”. The benifits unless managment are a comnplete joke. You see the TV add about the father who’s son had cancer…total BS WM’s health insurance does not cover any Cancer, HIV, or AIDS releated treatments, Only if you are managment level. Stock options and 401k…complete sham, you leave you loose 90% of it no mater what.

I hate communists!!!

There are other things to consider when thinking about a salary in china.

If you are foreign, especially white male, you will be paid more; it is a status thing to have a foreigner working for your chinese company.