???Safety Codes etc...

Hello, I am a design student and am conducting some research on a baby stroller. I am wondering about any possible regulations and/or safety codes that must be abided by in producing such a product. For example, I know architects must follow fire codes, height codes, exit codes etc…
I kinda become restricted because of uncertainties such as these and wonder if there is a particular government site or resource or book for attaining this information.
super-duper and thank you for your help.
Mike T

Sorry for digging up this old topic, but I could use some help with technical regulations as well.
Not specifically for a baby stroller, but in general.
Maybe you (Mike) found out by now?

For every safety code you find with a childrens’ product…
there are six more you that don’t know about
and they won’t tell you about
until they are ready to sue you with.

There aren’t really any “general” safety codes. There are dozen of scattered pieces of legislation you have to follow (along with the voluntary standards), and it’s an order of magnitude more complex if you’re making stuff for kids. And don’t forget the states, who are now going around the federal government and writing their own rules, especially California. CPSIA has a bunch of new stuff. Most of the safety-specific stuff can be found on the CPSC website, but you’ll have to dig. And know roughly what you’re looking for.

But there’s a lot of stuff that you just have to know about, like the CARB formaldehyde standards, or the Illinois lead limits, or the Lacey Act amendment dealing with wood sources.

The voluntary standards are usually published by ASTM (and you have to pay to access them). This is a huge topic when you don’t specify a product category. It’s a bit like asking what laws you have to follow in day to day life. The answer is: all of them. It’s impossible to summarize.

Is this legislation research carried out by designers, or is this usually done by lawyers?