Role of Industrial Design

Hey all,

First of all, this is an awesome blog! Just not too sure why there are topics unrelated to ID posted in this forum :stuck_out_tongue: naughty naughty

Well, I’m relatively new to the concept of Industrial Design and am tryin to gather more info about it. Thought this would be a good place to start and get opinions from all you veterans out there :smiley:.

I’d like to know what the role of Industrial Design is… I’m doing a project on this topic as part of my undergraduate studies in business school.

Would greatly appreciate your help and feedback!!

love,
suz.

suz,

in my experience, the role of industrial design is always a little different from job to job but generally, i have always regarded my primary role as an industrial designer to be that of consumer advocate within the product development process. one, because no one else is doing it, they all have other concerns, and two, because i am the least unqualified to do it. i synthesis divergent concepts from ambiguous information and champion solutions that converge within project parameters. i also attempt to keep engineering and marketing from mucking things up in the end, with varing degrees of success.

i hope this helps you.

“The industrial designer is the advocate for the user in the product development process.”

I heard this somewhere and I liked the sound of it. The ID guy is the only person in the process that looks out for the needs of the user. Everyone else is concerned with selling it, reducing cost, manufacturing it, etc…

you might check out the IDSA.org for the ‘official’ job description, but fitting engineering criteria into marketing demands (or vice versa) or, the “art of compromise”. I know that’s simplistic, but it’s almost too complex to accuratly describe without using case studies.