RIT , UIC, or UT austin

Hi, there

I was accepted by the ID graduate program by these three school. Since I am not living in the US. I have heard a little about them.

RIT seems to have a long history of Industrial design, and it focus more on “Real Things”(technology, form…), right? and it also have a lot of Co-op chances.

UIC was founded in 1940s, it is young. I wonder is it a mature university on this program. And What does it focus on? It locates in Chicago so is it easier to find a job?

UT austin is a famous university for a lot of subjects, but not for its Design Program, Right? And it is a small program.

What I am concerning most is finding a job after graduation. I know it is a tough time in the US. But i really hope to work in the US ? Can you guys give me some advice?

I graduated from the undergrad program at UT and from what I saw the grad program is not necessarily geared towards ID, but takes more of a holistic approach towards design.

In the grad program you can focus on whatever aspect of design you desire. The faculty is great and come from a variety of backgrounds. They are architects, photographers, graphic designers, typographers, furniture designers, industrial designers and design journalists who will let you explore and experiment design from all angles.

I know the program is small (maybe 10-15 grads total) and that everyone comes in with a variety of backgrounds (mostly not design related)

If you’re seeking a traditional ID education, UT is not geared towards producing industrial designers. After graduating, I decided to get an MID because I was unable to get a foot in the door as an entry level industrial designer with my work from UT.

UT is a great program for a lot of other reasons, and if you do decide to go you’ll fall in love with Austin right away. Hope this helps.

Thank you very much for your help.