Returning school for ID, with an unrelated degree.

Super brief background: I graduated from college with a BS in Communication Studies, with a a focus and slant towards theory work. Fast forward to a few years later, I am finding myself heavily gravitating towards ID, building and prototyping products and furniture of my own (in my own time, in a completely non-professional setting…this is mostly experimentation). While I feel that creativity and concept aren’t things I actively grapple with, topics like actual construction, production, knowledge of materials, ergonomics, etc are things I gravely lack. So, I’m trying to get back into school for ID, but I’m having quite a bit of trouble navigating where, and how I should apply.

I never thought that having an undergrad degree would make life so difficult, but here’s what I feel that I’m up against:

Since a BS in Comm (especially with my emphasis) seems very far away from the Design world, I have been looking at Undergrad programs. Most of the schools I have contacted want me to apply as a Post-Baccalaureate, and are quick to inform me they have very limited space for such applicants, and favor non post-bacc. students in their programs. The schools requiring me to apply as a Post-Bacc. are suggesting that I apply for their MA or MFA programs…however, jumping from a BS in Communications, to a MA or MFA in Industrial Design doesn’t seem like a very intuitive, or practical jump. I am not at all hung up on titles really, it doesn’t matter to me if I end up with a 2nd bachelors degree, or an MA. I see lots of crossover with Mechanical Engineers and Graphic Design throughout this forum, but I’m having trouble finding information for people coming in from fairly unrelated fields.

General questions in a comfortable bullet point list-
-Should I be looking for graduate level, or undergraduate level programs?