reputable ID school in Asia

Hi,
any recommendations for a good design program in Asia? Undergrad or Grad…I know it’s pretty cheap there, plus you get to experience new culture.

Hong-Ik is really good. Better technique and form development than most US schools. Not sure about design strategy and problem solving though.

do they teach in english or korean? i would like to get info from someone there…i think you’re right it’s a good school…anybody reading this from Hong-ik?

I’m not from hong-ik but I’m pretty sure most classes are taught in Korean (probably some classes in English).

national institute of design, india. it is one of the best in asia.

Yeah no doubt Hong-Ik University in Korea has a long excellent tradition and reputation in the areas of architecture, ID, etc. I am a student studying in the states, and I know a bunch who did their undergraduate studies there. From what I hear, it is pretty seriously intense and the school curriculum is no different from top US design schools. It’s s a relatively small university specialized in design. Located in the northern part of Seoul(Shin-Chon), in a setting surrounded by major top Korean Universities, the area is one of the coolest place to live too! Very Lively and fashion related shops / artist studios are here. Almost all classes are taught in Korean, but they use English textbooks or readings from all over the world, so I guess you would be in an advantage in some way in that case. The professors are mostly US or British or European educated, so they tend to speak good english too.

http://www.hongik.ac.kr/english_neo/

Hope this helps

sometimes it’s frustrating to navigate their websites…even if it’s in english the info is lacking…
anyway, i’m looking at taking my master’s degree in ID somewhere in asia…is National Institute of Design the same as IIT in India? which one has a stronger program? How abou Japanese schools?