Relocating to USA from London

I graduated in Product Design with a First Class Hons degree in 2004, and have been working in a small design company in London since. I’m now wishing to move on and find my ideal job in the area (which would be “true” product design; the kind of analytical, developmental design, looking at semantics, user groups, ergonomics and the interaction between product and user, as well as the look of the product), but would like to leave London. I’d love to work in San Francisco, (cue the groans, and the "me too, join the back of the queue"s), and was wondering if people had advice on how to go about it? I’ve read a few comments posted on this forum already, but I have some specific questions.

For example, are there design employment agencies based in SF/Palo Alto, similar to Adrem in London? Are there any that are particularly friendly to foreigners looking for design jobs? How would I go about the Visa issue? Would I be looking to apply for something on the Visa front and get the ball rolling, or is it just purely a question of applying/writing to ID companies, and getting a job where they would address this issue for me?

I noticed that someone got a little shirty when an enquiry was made along these lines in another thread, as he/she felt that US citizens wouldn’t look kindly on an immigrant looking for local jobs. Working with people from six different countries in my employment, I would say that London is all the richer (culturally) for having designers (and residents for that matter) from all over the world, and I hope designers would be as welcome to apply for jobs at home or abroad in a competitive market.

I have already gleaned that it’s a tough market, and that it’s better to have connections, but since nobody has said it’s impossible, I’m still wanting to follow my dream! I’d appreciate any pointers or advice on this, especially from people who’ve succeeded in getting employment and moving to the US from UK. Thanks!