Related/unrelated jobs, most marketable skills of a designer

I am an irish product design student and i will soon have to start looking for work placement. Generally the college finds it or you but in general the placements they find can be very irrelevant, if they find one for you at all.

I would like to find my own placement and i have decided that i wont restrict myself to just Product Design jobs. If i could find something semi-relevant that uses some of the skills i learned in college i would be happy. Even if it was just using autoCAD or photoshop or i dunno whatever…

What types of companies could i work for? What are a product designers most marketable and widely saught after skills? If not a product designer what else could i be?

Ideally i would like to be doing something in PD but i reckon im gonna have to settle for something like this.

Any advice would be great.

Cheers

With the global economy in shambles, this is going to be a very interesting thread. And it will pertain to more than just students, me thinks.

You’ve got an open mind tetrishead, which should serve you well.

The first that come to mind:

Designer
Drafter / Technical illustrator
Model Maker; and any craft with associated skills (cabinetry, pattern maker, furniture )
Materials / Processes Sourcing agent
Engineering / Design Liaison
Anything requiring an “eye” for details
People skills; the ability to listen to others and document their needs to others
Design “sales”; industrial design does not just happen, someone sells it

[edited to add: … design does not just happen… :unamused: ]

Given the obvious economic climate it’d be best to try your hardest to find something relative to design research and consumer insight - the fact is companies are having a hard enough time selling products (which is only going to get even worse after christmas) so the ability to rationalise a product to death is necessary (a mixture of research and sales essentially).