Refugee Shelter

I am an ID student at Purdue University and I am focusing my thesis on refugee shelter. My goal is to design a collapsible shelter that can be easily deployed all over the world. Something that can be shipped flat and assembled with few or no tools. When it is no longer needed, it can be dismantled, packed flat again, and moved to the next disaster area. I want to create a base unit that can be adapted to different climates and terrains. This unit can serve as a very basic shelter but, also have the capabilities to upgrade and implement modern infrastructure(i.e. solar power, running water, etc). I will also explore the possibility of having modular and stackable structures. Many alternative housing solutions deal with small scale but can’t cope with large scale displaced populations. My aim is to design a system that addresses the needs of large amounts of displaced people.

Does anyone have comments, suggestions, or ideas for research?

I would say start with researching normal backpacking and camping tent. All of these can be easily erected with no tools. they are also light weight, collapse flat, and moved from place to place. You also will want to do some research on simple desasters and what the challenges are. I’m sure they all differ.

I like where you’re going with this. I know there are dog kennels out there that are flat-packed, and then to assemble them, the roof of the kennel is lifted, sides are put in to support the structure, and everything snaps together. That might give you something to go off of.

Good luck!

My advice is, which is what I will say to everyone, don’t start by looking at what objects there are out there. Start by really understanding what happens during such disastrous events, then find the best thing to solve their problems. Perhaps you will find that it’s not a shelter that they really need. Maybe it’s something else.