Red Dot and other Competitions

I am a student who just graduated two months ago, and was very interested in entering the New Concept Red Dot award with a very credible project…that is until i figured out how much it would actually cost ME if i won ($1900!). Not to mention, it took 6 e-mails to get a straight answer about fees from the committee.

Does anyone else think this is wrong??? :frowning:

Yeah, it’s completely wrong and makes you think that Red Dot is not really after the best, freshest, most unique design talent but rather after the richest and maybe even most obnoxious egos.

It’s kind of dumb for them to have a student category and even a student registration discount, without reconsidering the blanket $1900 mandatory fee that is applied to all winners. And it’s also kind of dumb for them to assume that a first year professional can “run” financially with a pack of corporate wolves.

(I picture some fat old men in Switzerland somewhere drinking booze and eating sausages on Registrants Fees, while checking their stocks and feigning interest about design and judging design …LOL…there goes my imagination again.)

Nevertheless, though I am completely new to the prof. world of ID and poor as hell, I took the plunge and entered the R.D. Design Concepts Competition, completely zeroing out my bank account in the process. ROFLOL, when the next day I finally found the find print on the website that said that winners have to fork over another $1900 for maintenance.

In some ways, Red Dot is a design competition that almost makes you NOT want to win!

Anyway, best of luck to you. Look for the comps that you can afford but if you really want something, also proceed with the philosophy of “I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.”

The Red Dot concept is actually coming out of Singapore, not Switerland, making any delivery fees even more expensive for those on the Western hemisphere!