Recommended Footwear Design Courses

Hi everyone

I’m looking into study footwear design but I have no design background, just marketing. I have always love shoes since being a kid and have decided to pursue something that I’m passionate about.

Basically, I don’t really want to move full-time into product design for a major company but more so understand the shoe design and development process to develop my own brand to either retail or wholesale.

What would you recommend doing as far as footwear design courses? I have noticed there are alot of footwear courses that include product design, pattern making thru to the final product. Is this the right path?

I’ve looked into courses in the UK at London School of Fashion, Italy and Australia. Can you recommend any others.

Any advise would be a massive help.

Thanks!!

are you interested in athletic of more traditional fashion footwear?

R

Hi R

I’m interested in traditional fashion footwear.

Ta

Erin

I studied at De Monfort University, as did Hotmix, but he’ll probably be able to tell you more about the course than me because I graduated in 1991 and the course has changed alot. People who studied there? Head of design at Diesel, currently now head of design at Tsubo, owner of Tsubo brand, several designers at Reebok, GBMI, Head of Design at Shellys, Miss L Fire (I think the brand owner studied there), a footwear designer I know at Topshop, the Head of Design at Hi Tec, lots more, but I’d say the course might be geared more to brands and to mass market compared to LCF, which is more ‘designery’

London College of Fashion is also a degree course, (they didn’t offer a degree when I was studying). Many famous names from there - the likes of Patrick Cox, Olivia Morris, Georgina Goodman, Beatrix Ong, etc… historically spent more time on teaching to hand make than De Montfort did, but I don’t know now.

I think these two offer the only degree courses (please somone correct me if I’m wrong).