Recent (Engineering) Grad Portfolio

http://issuu.com/dipalma.j/docs/portfolio/1?viewMode=presentation&mode=embed

Hello all,

This is a little different than what is usually posted here, as I am a recent mechanical engineering grad, gunning for internship opportunities at firms that have collaborative engineering / ID teams. By necessity of the nature of my education, the portfolio has less ideation and process demonstration than an ID portfolio, but I have worked hard to include visuals as much as possible. Any feedback that might help me to better communicate my passion, intention, and skills would be appreciated. Thank you all in advance!
http://issuu.com/dipalma.j/docs/portfolio/1?viewMode=presentation&mode=embed

John

John,

My first impression is that your portfolio has an incredible amount of text. It reads more as an autobiography than as a
work portfolio. Some of that stuff can be saved for the interview. Also, more photos and physical examples of what you have created
would be helpful. Feature that chair. Show process shots. CAD models and simulations are nice, but prototypes/mock-ups are far more impressive. As a recent graduate, it is difficult to have a lot to show as the majority of a typical ME curriculum is very theoretical. I think its great that you are taking art classes and have an interest in furthering your sketching skills. However, I would put in sketches that are more process oriented - the ones that help you get to your final solution. Still life and figure stuff is nice but you would be better off incorporating sketches that are related to your projects. If you don’t have them, go back and fake some. Good luck.