Re: Continuing Ed : I need HELP!!!

I need help big time! So please hear me out!

Since after graduating from Design&Merchandising School in 2006, I’ve been wanting to get into graphic design! Actually I have too many interests but I believe that Graphic Design collected them all under one roof. I lost my track so many times and I feel stuck most of these times thinking about what to do, where to go and which step to take… Here goes my story:

As my degree was half design and half business I studied, basic design courses in college: Design 101 to 103, space, materials, drawing, brand identity etc… . Therefore I developed an understanding of all the process that goes through a product or a service: from positioning to design for the target market, from presentation to packaging to selling… etc. Although I couldn’t get enough of getting myself involved into design. I worked in a design house and helped Art Directors but I wasn’t fully confident with my technical skills as my degree was not graphic design. Then I decided that I want to study more and applied to Parsons’ AAS Graphic Design program and Miami Ad School’s Art Direction (a student in SVA who wished to study there instead of SVA recommend me the program ans she said that they are great!) while trying not to rush as I was having some visa issues (I couldn’t get a working visa because of a stupid pole that US tried to see if it worked in 2006, so I wasn’t picked!) Then I said to myself “Ok let me go home and think this through”… 3 years past! I am still at home! Cracked some of my shell and started to draw, paint, play with illustrator and even make bags out of canvas and print silk-screens on them!
But I need a big experience! I don’t want to live home for a while, I need to be in US or in London.
Saint-Martins is great but their short courses are too short! and when I have friends in US and while I am missing them this can be a great chance for me with them again!