Re: CAD software what is good and whats not?

Hi
My question is what is a good type of software package thats affordable for a recent Eng. graduate to use for design, product design or industrial.
I being a Mechanical engineer I am familiar with the likes Of
ProE Wildfire( which I am getting.)
AutoCad have since college
Ansys ( for Fea)
and solidworks
But with the above packages from what I know of them they are more production tools rather then design so…?
What I want is a package that will allow me to put to get some graphic CAD designs for a portfolio and which employers want employees to be able to use?
I have heard of Catia, Rhino and some more. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Also is a Mac a must have or would PC for gaming and graphics be equally up to the task? As I have a Laptop a year old with AMD chipset and I am thinking of getting a deskTop of somesort so that I can begin doing some Freelance work.
Cheers
paul

…it is hard to beat Rhino for the money, however solidworks and pro-e are more common in industry…alias dominates in the id world…and i recommend that you go with a pc…

We are buying seats of ProE Wildfire 2.0 for under $5000 USD. That’s quite a bargain from where it used to be, and the new ISDX module lets you do some good surfaces. Better than Rhino since it’s parametric.

License upkeep and maintenance fees are ridiculous though.

I use ProE wildfire2 for most modelling. It does most things except the renderer is’nt very good (can get an add on module). Alias Image studio is just a renderer and you can get some amazing results without to much effort unlike Max. If you’re getting wildfire 3 (not sure when thats out) it has a better renderer included.

You can only run ProE on PCs. Check the ptc website for info on supportedf graphics cards. ProE dont support mine and it cant handle transparencies in the modelling mode which sucks. You can turn tspcs off but still…

“License upkeep and maintenance fees are ridiculous though.”