radius gauge supplier?

Anyone have a good place to buy radius gauges and/or other tools online (ie. durometer guages, calipers, etc)? Nothing too fancy/specific.

R

I would check out McMaster Carr, they have everything! I used them all the time when I worked as a welder, the prices are sometimes a little higher but they have great service and ship fast. As a bonus their catalogs can work as a high chair in a pinch :slight_smile:

With someone else’s money, I go to Acklands-Grainger or Cole-Parmer. With my own money, it’s KBC Tools, Princess Auto or even Lee Valley.

:)ensen.

Brown & Sharpe

Scherr-Tumico

Starrett

Mitutoyo

All of these are good tools… I prefer Mitutoyo on feel, but have used B&S and Starrett.

ETA: I know you asked where you go go get these tools, but maybe you could know/discover the good tools and go from there?

R, Early on in my “design career” I was a mold/pattern maker, and have used Freeman Manufacturing & Supply Co. for most of my “machinist” needs since 1978.

Soup to nuts, they’ve got it all. Go to > Hardware & Equipment > Measurement and Layout Supplies

Right NOW (Sunday morning, 01.24.10) there are 228 “radius gauge” sets, of various types, on eBay.
I’ve sound eBay to be a surprisingly good source for “precision” tools; just not consistent for availablity (when you need it, you need it.)

From Grizzly, these don’t look too bad, especially for $13.

Additionally, General Tool used to make a pretty good set … for quite a bit less than Starrett, but I can’t find them on their website now.

It should be noted that as accurate as the big brands can be, it is often much cheaper to get a good generic measuring instrument and have it calibrated and certified. For example, with a caliper, out of the box, there can easily be a 0.02mm difference between the reading and OD, ID and depth measurements.

:)ensen.

Another source for machine tools is ENCO: They have several size and price ranges