Putting collaborative projects in the portfolio?

As a junior designer, I find myself regularly working collaboratively with other senior designers. As a result, almost none of the designs I’ve worked on over the past several years can be called 100% my own.

Just as an example, what will often happen is my supervisor will give me a quick sketch and I’ll start to model it in CAD. As I look at the internal components, I find myself having to change several design elements in order for it to be functional to the point where it doesn’t really look like the original sketch anymore. Or sometimes it’s flipped: I’ll come up with the initial concept and my supervisor will end up changing the design a lot in order to account for internal parts/mechanics/ergonomics.

Or let’s use the instance of headphones. What happens if I design the headband and my supervisor designs the earcups or vice versa? What if I’m designing a faucet and my supervisor designs the handles and I design the spout?

How should I present these designs in my portfolio, if at all?

A great question and, if it makes you feel any better, a very common one. The truth is: it is rare that a design will ever be 100% “yours” in that most products are the result of the collaborative effort of many stakeholders in the process like your supervisor, an engineers, a molder, the client, etc. This is particularly true when you are just starting out as a junior designer.

First things first: I am assuming that you are taking your signed nondisclosure into account when considering what can and cannot be shown in your portfolio. The best suggestion here it to discuss this with your supervisor and make sure any images you plan to show are permissible under that agreement. Sometimes you’ll have to get permission from the client (if you’re in a consultancy) in addition to permission from the firm.