Prototyping Process - GRRRRRR

I am going through a very lengthy and expensive prototyping process and am curious about other peoples’ prototyping experiences. So far, I’ve put in about $12,000 and +/-9months, and still refinements are necessary. This is my first project, and I’m learning a bundle as I go, but it is discouraging not to have “perfection” by now! Anyone else care to share their experiences?

Does it have electronics? What materials does it use? If it is plastic, then having an SLA cast in polyurethane is probably your best bet since it will be durable and can flex a bit without breaking.

Need more details! But for your sake, I hope your company is footing the bill.

Is it a “prototype”, a “working” model or a “looks-like” model? People tend to use those terms interchangeably. Unfortunately.

…not unusual to spend upwards of 200x what the product might retail for in the end for a full on prototype, and they can take 3x longer than planned…pesky prototypes. thankfully, i do not need to do them very often. usually, if i estimate they will take more than 100 hrs of my time to complete…“el paso” as they say in texas (cann’t afford to work a month for free).

I’ve got to ask. Was this project ‘designed’ or is it a trial-and-error work in progress?

I’m currently doing some production pattern work for thermo-forming molds for a manufacturer of mobile satelite communications equipment. About every three days, or so, I get a call for their engineer if some detail change that affects the work I’m doing; and of course the price of the tooling.