Project Critique

I haven’t posted anything in awhile. But here is my most recent shoe project. Tell me what you.

Continued

Continued

I’m not really in a position to critique your designs (I just started studying ID) but I did notice that scale between the figure and your shoe design in the last sheet (the line figures wearing the shoes during various activities) was really off and I had trouble focusing on the look of your shoes. The football player, boxer, and weight lifter are the most out of proportion with their shoes. They need to be almost 50% larger for some of them to look right. Maybe there’s some standard proportion of shoe to height ratio that you could find.

It’s a small, perhaps superficial, detail but it bothered me and it should probably be pretty easy for you to adjust in illustrator or whatever program you’re using. Sometimes its hard to see scale issues when you’ve been working on a project for so long.

Overall, your work looks great to me, though.

Nice work Reggie! I think one of the most unique/interesting parts of the design is the midsole/outsole construction. The exploded view gives us a good idea of how the upper comes together, but it does not give much information about the outsole. I would love to see a view of how that piece comes together in detail. I also agree that the proportions of the shoes seem a little small on your storyboards. Those sketches do a good job of showing us your thinking about the shoe’s market, but fixing those proportions would put them over the top. Keep it up!

I’m not really good at drawing people so I tend to find a picture that I like and sketch over it, and adding my shoes in the scene. The weight lifter had small feet, the boxer feet are pointed toward the background giving the illusion that his feet are small, and the football player feet were contorted in some weird position making his shoe/feet look really small. With that said I can try to change the size of the feet/shoe.