product/image mapping

cud any body pass on some good link(s) for product mapping? I want to read something about it though i have a verbal idea of what it is ad have indulged in it too.I am a design student and need it for a project of mine.THanx a lot.

No I cannot.

I suspect that this is for two reasons:

One, there was nothing on the first page of the 0.06 second search I just did on Google about it.

Two, I am not sure I really understand what you are after, why you are after it or what you are trying to achieve.

Maybe others who read this can. Or maybe you could be more focussed and specific and some good people here might be able to give you suggestions on HOW to do it…

Good Luck

dear mr swope,

i know how exactly to type www.google.com on the net and had waited for 6 minutes (against your 0.6 minutes) before asking the discussion panel regarding product mapping - one

Anyway here is my reframed question : Can anybody tell me what ‘product mapping’ is and how do we go about doing it?

Regards

Sometimes we can’t always magically type in what we want into Google and get it. Sometimes we actually have to actually make some kind of attempt to think and ask clear questions. Here are some I have for you…

Are you mapping existing products?

What do you want to achieve by mapping them?

Do you want to map them attitudinally?

Do you want to map them functionally?

Do you want to map products offered by one brand?

Do you want to map products competitively?

Do you want to map categories of products - e.g. mice - or do you want to map across categories of products - e.g. mice, trackballs, retinal scanners, touchscreens, other peripherals?

Now, here is a mapping experiment that you might try if you haven’t done it already: