Product Design Program At Ccs Vs. Cia.....

I am a sophomore (studio wise, credit wise I am a junior) product student at CCS in Detroit. Love it there, don’t really have any serious problems with the curriculum currently…but I keep consistently hearing that CIA (Cleveland Institute of Art) has a much stronger Product program compared to CCS, who has a much stronger Auto program. I absolutely love product design…mainly considering the function, research, and broad variety of products to design, vs. designing cars every semester and your career. I initially came to CCS for Auto design, but quickly started to like Product much more. I was accepted into the sophomore automotive program, which cuts down the freshman class to only 26 students, but I turned it down, people think I am nuts.

So I would just like to hear what people have to say about CIA and their Product Design program. I would consider transferring in as a junior studio wise if that works out for the Fall 08 semester. I guess a few of last years sophomores who didn’t make junior auto design went to CIA and were able to transfer their studio credits.

I grew up in Detroit and took several classes at CCS while in High School. I had actually assumed that I’d go to school there, since it was the local design college.

My father was in automotive design at Chrysler and, being very familiar with both school’s ID programs suggested that, unless I wanted to go automotive, to go to CIA.

I did wind up going to CIA (graduated '96) and highly recommend it. The department head there, Dan Cuffaro, is a HUGE advocate for design and is generally very progressive. I know a number of the teachers personally and they’re all high quality, great people. Also, they have good relationships with companies for internships (though still not as good as Cincinnati as far as I know).