Pro Engineer textbook?

Time to get my head round a parametric modeller - gone for Pro Engineer cause of the ISDX freeform. Now I’m looking for a text book, the Toogood books look good but only seem to cover the basics - I need a book that covers surface modelling.
Any one tried this one - ProE4D (www.proe4d.co.uk) - any good?

I haven’t checked out any textbooks as I took classes here in Chicago (proetools.com) that had their own curriculum. But I wanted to say good luck and enjoy learning Pro/E. Its an incredible program. ISDX is amazing. I’ve been using Pro/E every day for several years and it still surprises me.

It looks better than the ProE book on surfacing I had found about 6 years ago…

The examples have that really dry look in your book just like the one I had, it makes ProE look so boring! There is definitely an opportunity for a good ProE book for designers

I took the PTC classes and they have pretty good books, but I think you have to take the classes

Very true. There’s so much cool stuff Pro/E can do that benefits a designer. I don’t think PTC does a very good job promoting their software in this way. I think often the assumption is that its primarily for engineering, which I suppose is true, but its great as a design tool, especially when size tolerances are tight. You get great flexibility for proving form anchored down by parametric dimensions.

Maybe they should cater a version to IDer’s and call it Pro/Designer. Keep all the modeling aspects, cut some of the engineering tools that aren’t as vital to designers, and really pump up the rendering functionality. I would be loving life if I had the modeling power of Pro/E combined with the rendering power equivalent of Maya. (without paying for both)

The thought of it makes my geek tingle. :smiley:

I don’t know how long you’ve been using Pro but back in the early 2000’s they did have a “ID” version of Pro E (I believe I’m remembering this correctly)… it was before they came out with Wildfire.