Prepare a design for manufacturing? Engineer necessary?

I am a pretty recent graduate so my experience with materials/manufacturing is limited.

I’ve been doing freelance design work (this particular project is privately funded for now, so the budget is small), and am having some road block on determining the best way to complete the design for ideal manufacturing. Visually the design is done, and mechanically it has been thought out. The client doesn’t want me to bring the CAD models/visuals to a specific manufacturer until we know the best way for it to be built out of fear that they will want to do that work in-house.

As of now, the product will most likely have a injected-molded shell parts, a larger rolling part that needs to be of a softer material, and a structural rod that has a ball bearings so the soft part can rotate/roll. I hope that’s enough details. It needs to be rugged, and have quite a bit of strength (that’s why the rod has been incorporated).

I’m looking for suggestions or just advice in general for this phase of the process. I feel like it would be wise to collaborate with an engineer for material/manufacturing advice. I know and understand the basics, but with so little experience I don’t want to make decisions that may cause the product to break or be much more expensive than it has to be.

Where do industrial designers draw the line when determining materials and how a product gets assemble/built?

The answer for “when you need an engineer” should be “when you have a question/concern you can’t answer yourself”.

If you are confident in your design, or you have room for trial and error via prototypes, then you can go down that road yourself.

If you have a number of questions regarding how the thing will hold up, what wall thicknesses/specifications, etc you need to build into your parts to sustain a certain load and that sort of thing, you would be better off consulting with the engineer now.