Pratt ID Graduate Prep Classes

So I graduated from Binghamton University (in upstate NY) this past May with a bachelor’s degree in economics… After realizing that the two main things I could do with that were finance or an econ PhD, neither of which I ended up wanting to pursue, I decided to get serious about pursuing a design-based career. I’ve done a lot of Photoshop graphic design work in the past, mostly things in my free time, some spec ads, graphics for my college newspaper, etc… Since graduating, I got a job doing graphic design and some HTML layout design. All in all I have a decent portfolio right now, but it’s almost all photoshop, and definitely needs to be expanded.

Anyway, after a lot of thought and research, I decided recently that I want to pursue industrial design. My plan is to apply to schools next fall, if possible. And since I want my portfolio to reflect skills more relevant to ID programs, I’ve been looking into into some continuing ed programs near me. I live in the New York City area, and Pratt’s graduate prep classes seem to be just what I need… before I spend real money to start taking them though, I figured I’d ask you guys to make sure it seemed like a good idea.

Basically, it’s a 4 class program, for people who don’t have a formal ID background but want to apple to grad programs. They focus on drawing, 3d model making, and eventually portfolio building (and it’s about $600-800 per class). Does this seem like the right move for me, or would there be a better way to get the experience I need? Like it’s not a crazy amount of money (and I can afford it), but it’s still a lot, so I want to make sure this would be the best thing to do…

Thanks for any advice!

Sorry if this response is a bit late, but I recently took one of the graduate preparatory classes at Pratt and thought I could contribute my two cents…