Portfolios for school

Hello everyone I am new to this site and have found it very helpful. I graduated from Indiana University with a BFA in sculpture in 2005. I am now interested in pursuing an MFA in ID. I’ve been looking at a lot of different schools and was wondering if anyone had some advice on what to include in my portfolio. Most of my sculptural work was pretty much design work. Do they want to see you’ve had experience in CAD, is drawing the most important thing? I know this is a broad question but any help is much appreciated. Thanks

Rachel

(i’m mostly interested in toy and furniture design, some product design)

there are lots of opinions - as you’ve been reading.
For you to get a better response, post up some of your work here with as much development process as will fit.

For one off furniture I would recommend a hands on, specific program, like the grad furniture program at RISD.

Toys are a very different world. Much more sketching based, with lots of though put into play patterns, integrating inventor submissions, retail, and parent needs with styling. Check out one of our moderators in the Toy section below, Optimistic, todd Herlitz, he is one of the best toy designers I know. Ironically he also does furniture on the side…

sorry

Thanks for your replies. Much appreciated. I’ll post some images of resent work on here. I have to reshoot a lot of this work so please excuse the not so great quality. Anyway, I did odyssy of the Mind as a kid and basically I’m trying to find a career the most closely resembles that. I enjoyed and still enjoy art, but I miss the problem solving aspect of real world problems and scinareos. So my thinking is that ID combines the two nicely. anyway, thanks again for you help. here is some work.

here’s some more work. Trying to figure out how to upload multiple images.

blobs
blobssmaller.jpg

i did a series of these gummy bear boxes where the in every box the red and white gummy bear couldn’t get to each other