Portfolio Site - Any advice

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to put up a link to my portfolio site and see if anyone had criticism. I am in the process of adding my thesis project and swapping out some sketches, but it is fairly recent as of now.

My main concern: I have trimmed down the projects for online viewing so that hopefully my process will come through, but if I am called in for an interview I will still have plenty of new images and work to show. I am not sure that this is 100% clear to an outside party, or if instead it makes my projects look weak. I’m trying to find a balance where I can show good work and actually receive an interview call, but I don’t want to bring in a paper portfolio with the exact same work.

I have been applying to jobs for two months and haven’t received an interview yet. Can I blame the economy, or is there something glaringly missing that I should work on?

Tear me up, I can handle it: http://www.ChrisMurrayDesign.com

You already lost my interest in the first few seconds.

Why? I see a logo, and a loading progression percentage thing.
Why make me wait?

I dont think you need to do that at all, just show this page as the home page.

But yea, that was a huge turn off, and i didnt really want to sit there and wait for it to load.
If i was the hirer, i wouldve just closed the site already.

But Im gonna take a look around now.
Will update commentary in a bit.

Amtrak Project:
I dont get it.
Why did you guys decide to create a new line for Amtrak?
What were the problems you found out and solved?
The project is very weak imo.
Even as a stylistic concept.

I looked at all your projects.
And its hard to see the thought process in em.
Also for your team projects, which is like half of your stuff.
You should write which areas you worked on.

ARC Project:
I think you need more research and a more focused idea of who its for.
Theres not enough “story.”
Just kinda feels like you ran with whatever you thought would be cool.