Portfolio Pain - Box of Chocolate

I sure this question has been asked like 1 million times. But please be patient with me.

I am having a hard time narrowing it down for sample sheets (you know the pdfs employers / recruiters want sent in with resumes), In my research I have found you should send in about 7-8projects, I think I found this in another discussion? Y’all agree?

I am an experienced designer (over 10 years) who has worked on a lot of mass-produced projects in a lot of materials and processes (inj. mold, blow mold, thermo, struct. pkg., fabricated steel, fibreboard, etc.) for a few diff. markets (kids, display, medical, etc.). I feel it is in my benefit to represent each of these, or the breadth of my experience, especially for a recruiter. But the overall appearance looks very “colorful” or “assorted” like a box of chocolates even though it is very organized and consistently formatted, labeled very well, succinct. It does not appear focused and directed. - But I feel I’m not representing one of my strengths (which is ability to be versatile) if I don’t do it this way. Maybe breadth is not a strength anywhere but in a consultancy?

I don’t always have the full representation of the process for each project, for lack of the materials or fear of being blamed for showing something “confidential”, but I show similar process materials in a “sketch section” or in my “personal projects” section where I show more of the process -sketch options to rendering to 3D model/rendering to Control Dwg.

Questions…

Does my approach sound Effective, not effective?
Do you think targeted, over breadth?
Ok to show you can do whole process over a bunch of projects vs. one project?
How many projects max? As many as will fill the pdf limit they impose wether it be 2MB 3 or 4?

Any other advice?