Portfolio Feedforward

LINK TO PDF: Edzard Contze Portfolio.pdf - Google Drive

Hi!

I’m a 3rd year grad student Industrial Design Engineering at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands.
I’m looking for an internship starting in February. And I’m hoping to get some feedforward on my portfolio.

I would love to do an Industrial Design internship at a design studio or a big design consultancy firm like Frog, Aruliden or Smart Design. But I’m still looking at places to apply.

As for the portfolio, I’ve made it into a short summary of the projects I have done in university. Where there are mostly pictures over words.

There are a couple of things that I’m still not satisfied with:

• The titles of the projects, currently these are the titles of the courses. But I’m not sure they fit well.
  • Is the process clear? Or should I more process pictures?
  • Is it clear to you when a project ends and when another starts? Should there be a more significant signifier?
  • What do you think of the qualities of the projects? Is it good enough to apply for a big firm?

I’m looking to improve my portfolio so all the critique is very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Welcome Edzard.

Here are a few things to think about:

On the project naming, I would definitely move it away from assignment based titles. For example, this is a current title you have:

“Productdimension
Assignment: Design a lamp from one kind of material and it has to be sheet
material. Connections must be formed with this material.”

Which could be something like:

“Really cool lamp name
A lamp made from a single sheet material with no fasteners.”

The drone project doesn’t look finished as it is right now.
Keyshot renders are not adding much value at the end. I’d either add more renders of different models or take it out.

Hope some of this helps take it to the next level.

Hi Edzard,