Portfolio feedback please!

Hi all,

I’m an industrial designer that graduated in 2017 from the UK. I’m currently nearing the end of my current contract at my current place in Denmark, and need to start looking for new places. I know it’s a super difficult time and people aren’t really hiring, but I’ve seen some super cool positions in studios in the EU so I’d like to apply there.

My website is https://emilios.co.uk, and you can find my PDF folio at https://emilios.co.uk/portfolio.pdf

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Do the projects make sense? Is there anything obvious that is missing?

Thanks!
Emilios

Skillsets are solid, but I don’t see any CAD animations. Front end design process is exceptionally solid, but I don’t see any interface with Mechanical Engineering leading to production. Mood-boarding is solid, but I don’t see any user demographics pairing with object design languages. UX/UI appears well art directed, but need more flow charting to better understand more of larger picture UX logic and flows. Although you show some raw electronics prototyping, your portfolio does not have any of the evidence of the messiness inherent in advanced hardware development (i.e. working with other hard disciplines to eliminate the messiness and display empathy for the user).

Most of the projects/clients in your portfolio slant towards organizations that collect data (Maptic, Calm Case, Waterstone). In a post Covid world it would be nice to see your ability to be sensitive to designing for the other side of the emerging market. Easier more accessible encryption, less permissions oriented, privatization of personal data etc. The Grippy Sippy needs to address safety/cleanability and sterilization to be a viable child’s product in the USA.

Your portfolio and experience will sell well in Silicon Valley, Seoul, Singapore and Hong Kong. Your generation of designers is entering a world market fraught with tribalism, lack of trust and hostility.