Portfolio feedback please

Hello,

I have been a lurker of the core77 board for a while. I am a recent graduate and now have an online portfolio. If anyone wants to take a look and offer their thoughts, I would be grateful.

I have been looking for work since May. Since I have had no luck so far, I am deciding to change up what I have been sending out. New resume, online portfolio, new projects in the works…

Looking for:
-First impressions
-Does this work I’m showing, demonstrate everything needed in a designer at my level
-Work presented well? (most of the projects have additional storytelling pages)
-Would you hire me?

Thanks!
-Ryan

http://www.ryancavenagh.com

Looks pretty good overall. Some interesting things. I actually looked at it all which is more than I can say for most portfolio sites. I think to some extent though you’ve buried the better stuff near the bottom.

Chair project was OK but pretty straight forward and not that exciting.

Ballet shoe I want to see more about the tech and function since that is key (and I’m a footwear guy).

PUR was OK. some decent graphics, nothing too exciting.

Beer taps. Some clever stuff, pretty fun.

Landrover sketches are nice. Model not so much. Pepto idea pretty clever. Target lamp doesn’t do anything for me and the perspective is off in the in situ render.

Overall I think you have OK skills (though want to see much more sketches, and some people may want more 3D CAD), but the story and presentation is a bit lacking. Not bad, per se, but nothing too exciting.

Take a look at the portfolio handbook. Maybe redo a few sketches or process stuff from the select projects. I think you are certainly above average but still have some ways to go to really stand out.

R

Rich-

Thanks for taking the time to look it over. You made some good points, and I appreciate your feedback. I have some questions, that others reading this might benefit from as well.