Portfolio Development - One Year Worth a Wait?

I am a Prospective Grad Design student from a non-ID background and I started taking sketching classes a months ago. I am making good progress according to my teacher but The Portfolios are due in January, so I was wondering, if its worth taking more time for devoloping my portfolio? I was reading some of the older posts where a few posters held the opinion that even if you get accepted to a place like Art Center, one has a hard time coping if you lack the foundational skills.

Just wanted more opinions of whether it would be a better idea to apply AFTER I graduate? Practice the whole year, polish my skills, and apply in January 2010 instead of 2009. I graduate in July 2009 with a BSc (Hons) in Economics.

January gives you 4 solid months of development + however many additional days in January (assuming it’s not due the 1st) to get everything compiled.

Don’t wait. If you put in a decent amount of time (remember grad schools tend not to expect non-ID students to already have the ID education - thats the point of the degree) so if you can show strong basics then it gives you a good head start. If you don’t get in on the first shot then reapply after.

Work hard, draw every day, and critique all of your own work. When you get to a point where you can’t think of anything to critique, then post it online to get some additional feedback. The inability to self critique is one of the things I see that kills people. You need to learn to be very critical of your own work and be willing to redo things over and over till you get them to what you feel is “Right”.

Also it will depend heavily on where you apply to school. Are you sure you want to apply to an art school? Or have you considered a university that might be more grounded in engineering/science?