Portfolio critique needed for Masters application

Hi All!

I am an engineer looking to move to the world of Industrial design. I have a year of experience with a design research firm, but ID is a different change. I am looking to bring my research and reasoning skills, tech knowledge, and origami skill to the application.
I am applying for M.F.A., M.A. and M.ID programs, with more focus on the 3-year programs.
I really need feedback on this portfolio, please note its just put together with more of a focus on submitting to slideroom, where I write descriptions on the side.

Please advise me as to the content, variety, quantity and layout, as I am sending out applications later this week!

All the best to the rest of you applying!
Thanks!

Hi oswalakhil,

Off to a great start! This looks much better than my first attempt at a portfolio.

Here’s my notes:

Layout:
Keep a consistent page count and possibly think a little more about the tabs in the top right. Would the portfolio suffer if you removed them completely?
Think about order of projects. The suitcase is OK to lead with, but I feel the “automotive design” pages shouldn’t take precedence over the TEDx (nice!) or web app pages.
It might be nice to try and group the Unbox projects into a continuous thread, it would help demonstrate your array of abilities across multiple disciplines in a common corporate context.

Content:
Condense the origami to a couple pages. This might be difficult, it’s apparent that you have a talent with paper. Perhaps you can group a few favorites with the “Artwork” spread in the back? In terms of composition, my favorite photos are of the bull and fish.

The Automotive design section shows that you are familiar with hand sketching, Photoshop, and paper/sketch models. Are there other examples of this you could include and combine into a “general skillset” section?

Best of luck with your applications!

Corey

Hi Oswalakhil,
Welcome to the forums.

Here are my initial impressions: