PLS help me... Grad ID, Art Center vs IIT? urgent urgent...

Which way i should go for?

• 1. find a job in singapore
  • 2. IIT
  • 3. Art Center

0 voters

Hi all,

as stated in the subject, i have been admitted by Art Center and IIT for industrial design, graduate program. and currently i am having a tough time deciding which one will be more suitable.

As i am an international student (i took my BA ID in National Univ of Singapore, 4 year program), i am not familiar with US design schools. What i hav researched so far gave me an impression that Art Center put more emphasis on styling for commercial products, where IIT focus on theory and design management.

My BA school gave a rather balanced curriculum. Personally, i cant say i am better at which, creating form or doing researches. however, i am more interested in doing conceptual designs, or branding design, for a range of products. (Thus the least thing i would like to do is CADmonkey or for a specific product company, i am considering applying design consultancy position after grad)

Thus here is my dilemma btw IIT and Art Center, and the hefty school fee really makes me ponder my decision of Grad studies. I am finishing my BA degree this coming june and i have no savings, thus i hav to depend on my family support plus part-time work to afford the school fees.

Another choice for me is to go straight to the industry aft my BA, and maybe get a jr designer job in singapore, work for a couple of years b4 taking Grad schools. The reason why i want continue my study was that i felt a lack of thoughts and depth in my design. I really want to explore design beyond forms and aesthetics, and maybe come up with my own line of products someday.

As confusing it sounds, there are 3 choices for me now:

1. find a job in Singapore (salary around 2.5k sgd/m)
  2. IIT grad
  3. ACCD grad

Please Please do advice on my choices. I am about to make a decision in a few days as the deadline draws near…