Picking a material to make curved surfaces

I’m a high school student taking design classes at ACCD.
Every term we have to make a model of our final product, and I’m having troubles figuring out a material to make my monorail out of. (the project is monorail design)
My monorail will have curved surfaces on the side panel, so I’m wondering what kind of material I could make it out of.

I’ve heard and seen lots of models from previous terms that are made of yellow foam, but I’m hesitant on using it because:
a. It’s expensive (I heard)
b. Is getting good symmetry a problem?

I’ve been thinking of making cut outs out of foamcore and spacing them out and then covering it with something (maybe clay or something of that sort, but I’m low on time because of school and stuff <_<.

So are there any easy manipulable materials that I could use to create curved surfaces? (My design from the front view is like an “H” except the center line of the H is the passenger area and the | | on the outside are the outer panels,which will be curved)

I’m a newbie to yellow foam and curved surfaces, so any advice is appreciated. (My model last term was all foamcore because it didnt have any weird curves and stuff)

First, ignore that previous solicitation post. Obviously if you’re in high school you aren’t going to ship your model to China to be made.

Second, blue foam is cheap. Carving w/ symmetry could be tough, but no tougher than anything else really. If you want to have a fluid shape a carved foam model is the way to go. You can cut it, sand it, glue it, you name it. It’s the standard really. Run over to Home Depot and grab a chunk and go to town sanding, cutting and gluing. I think you’ll find it’s what you’re looking for.

It’s the standard really. Run over to Home Depot and grab a chunk and go to town sanding, cutting and gluing. I think you’ll find it’s what you’re looking for.