Parsons Lighting Design Program

I am an international student at Parsons school of design in the MFA Architectural Lighting Program. I am very dissapointed in this program. The quality of this program seems to have gone down after the new chair of the department took over. He has made quite a mess of things, and most of the students here can’t stand him. There is no intelectual freedom here. I have since been warned by alumni and other Lighting Design Professionals to avoid this program. I wish some one had told me sooner.

Sorry to hear this. What are your plans now? Continue with the program or seek another degree?

I have put a year in already, so I think that I will finish up, if I can stand it. It is just a two year program and I have already spent so much money on tuition and moving to the US.
Everything I have learned about lighting design has been from my internship. I have learned nothing of value from the actual program. I advise people interested in lighting to seek another school, or just try getting an internship.

I have put a year in already, so I think that I will finish up, if I can stand it. It is just a two year program and I have already spent so much money on tuition and moving to the US.
Everything I have learned about lighting design has been from my internship. I have learned nothing of value from the actual program. I advise people interested in lighting to seek another school, or just try getting an internship.

I graduated from the Parson’s MFALD program. I pretty much agree. I know so many discrunteled lighting students. It’s sad but this program is not making any friends. I wish I had been warned as well.

I just graduated from this program. It was worst school. The chair was very rude, and ignored the international students. :cry:

Which year did you guys graduate from? Were you in the class with the student teacher affair?