Outsole Exploration--Why only in the Hoops Division?

Hey all-

I was looking at my stepdad’s running shoes the other day (I’m just beginning to make a concentrated effort at creating a running regimen) and noticed the outsole patters looked nearly identical on his Asics Gel Kayano 10’s, Asics Gel Nimbus 8’s, and Asics Gel Nimbus 10’s.

I got to thinking-Are the running divisions of these companies keeping everything the same because the outsole patterns simply work that well? Certainly, shoe companies tend to incorporate alike patterns on their yearly team incarnations, (see the '08 and '07 Nike Elite line) yet why is there so much deviation from year to year in the basketball realm? I’d consider traction to be substantially more important in a basketball game than when running around an indoor track or running on the sidewalks, so why aren’t hoops companies sticking with what works? The outsole tread on the Zoom Kobe 1, And1 Edge, and Reebok ATR Vertical III just work. Why don’t companies stick with the same outsole patterns? Does design play that large a role in how the outsole is formed? Is it price point related restrictions that force companies to retract some ideas regarding traction?

Thanks to anyone who can give input.

Peace_

Jeremy Ripley

Well, without commenting on whether or not those asics indeed HAVE the same tread- I would say the differences are rather night and day (although the process for each are similar).

Runners, generally speaking, are not really big changers. Core runners might even find a pair of shoes then go back to stock up on years worth out of fear that they will need a new pair and not get what they want/ know. While not resistant to technology, and thus change, core runners usually need good reason for this to happen.