OpenGL for Solidworks - truth or lie?

HI all,

I am a newbie here, and I am one year into my ID program. I am considering getting a new laptop for the coming semester. I envision myself using photoshop and illustrator and autocad most of the time now, but will probably move to solidworks or alias. now, the big question is of course which laptop to get. i have read quite some praise on the dell M60 which has a NVIDIA Quadro FX Go1000 card with 128Mb RAM, so I am considering that. on the other hand, I have also been considering the Sony A series. the big plus over there is that it has a HUGE 17" screen. however, it has got only an ATI mobility Radeon 9700, with 64Mb RAM. so, what i would like to ask is:

1. Does support for OpenGL helps a lot? what advantage does that have? with the money i spend on the Dell, i can get a pentium M 1.7GHz, while the dell would come with a pentium M 1.5GHz. granted i would use more some solidworks, but i probably won’t be using it 90% of my time, 50% more like it (i still like to make foam mock-ups…)

2. Continued from the above question, does a faster processor compensate for a slower graphics card?

3. Does a bigger screen help much? Of course, i am using a little 12 in screen now which is way too small even for word, but from a 15 in to a 17 in, how much better would that be? what would be your opinion?

anyway, thanx for all your input in advance. please tell me your opinion…

1. CAD generally optimized for OpenGL which is cross-platform. games run on DirectX which is Windows. its important. also know that video RAM is for games mostly. to handle all the hi-rez textures locally. dont need nearly as much for CAD. not so long as you arent planning to do realtime textured CAD (see older threads on that topic).

2. used to be graphics was entirely processed by the CPU. with GPU’s the direction has changed. but still believe that CPU will be called when necessary under certain conditions.