one man show, design chop shops good or bad?

Well, I guess the subject line says it all.

I have been working for a couple years. No design boss, no real assignments, and no colleagues. My only mental stimulation is lunch time and telephone. I haven’t learned new software past what was taught in college. However, I am being paid but no interaction with any other designers.

What do you think? Should I keep up with the routine of one man show, doing practically nothing, or return to the job hunt having to worry where my next meal is coming from.

No doubt you need some sort of external stimulation/influence. You can’t design in a vacuum. I find that I work so much better with engineers, other designers, or even “lay” people to bounce ideas off of and brainstorm. I work at a small consultancy (10-12 employees) and also work on some small freelance projects. I sometimes have a hard time getting in a groove when I am working on my own freelance projects. I can develop some interesting ideas, but it is rare that I have all the pieces to the puzzle.

When it comes to software and technology, I find that there are so many tricks and techniques that you can pick up from coworkers. In Photoshop, for example, I always thought that I had a good handle on the program. I’m no wizard, but I feel very confident in my skills. It seems that whenever I sit down with someone else, they will have different ways of creating an effect. “What? How did you do that? No shit, I didn’t know that.” It happens more than you would think.

…being a one man show can be a bit isolating…been there a few times myself but i’ve never wanted for something to do…find something important/valuable to do and do it…form and lead a project team…be pro active…or…get that resume and book dusted off and find another gig…it is really up to you and always will be…

I did it that way for fifteen years . … … wouldn’t do again. Designers need other people to react to/with.