Ocean rendering

Hi all!
I just started on my new job as a ship designer (we’re talking big boats here) and I am wondering how to make nice ocean renderings in ImageStudio? I’m pretty new at this software. Is the ocean a separate shader with a “wave texture” or how do you do it? I want to create both glassy and broken sea.

If ImageStudio not is the software most suitable, which one is the better?
Help please!

In Maya they have a bump map specifically for water. I’ve seen some posts around the net too. You will find that many aspects of rendering from Maya and Studio Tools to be applicable in Image Studio, so look around for all three.

The other option, which maybe simpler is to just photoshop the boat onto a high res picture of the ocean, which probably isn’t too difficult to find.

Another thing that will help make your rendering more realistic is to use the HDR image facility in ImageStudio.

Either make or try and find an HDRI image of an ocean scene. I would probably put the sea in as a post render in Photoshop. But using an HDR image to control the environment lighting will help your final composition.

One tip to help orientate your view if you do it this way is to load the ocean/sea image that you will use as the final compostition into IS and use it as the floor or background to setup the angle that you will render. Even if you switch the floor/background off and use a different environment for your render you will probably get a better final composition.

Maya is 100% the way to go. They have a specific ocean generation feature which certainly won’t be the easiest to use, but it’s very capable once you’ve learned to use it.

If you just want to hack it then either composite it after the fact, or take a picture of the ocean and apply it as a texture to your ground plane in image studio. It won’t look great but it’ll probably do the job depending on what your realism requirements are.