Not sure where to start, any advice is better than none

I hope I’m not posting in the wrong place or doing something horribly wrong by posting this. In fact I was a little nervous about posting, but here it goes. Forgive me if I sound pretentious in any way (feel free to tell me if I do).

I am a college student on break, going to start my second year this fall. At the college I go to, I have had quite a few CAD and technical classes (ie. how to read machinists handbooks, etc) but no real design classes yet. As such, I feel that I am incredibly behind every other student going into ID at the moment. I have yet to get a job this summer, so I feel I should work hard on design (though I should regardless of having a job). I have looked around the internet for resources and I’ve tried to absorb as much design as I can through the internet (through Core77, Yanko, and some others), but I quite frankly feel a little lost and unsure where to start. I want to try different fields of design (electronics, footwear, etc) and see if I can improve my art overall while doing so.

So, if you are willing, do you have suggestions (books, websites, general advice) for me as a design student? General questions and comments are also totally okay.

Forgive me if my post is a little hectic or frantic sounding, it’s late (for me) and I feel the need to try and catch up to everyone else. Thanks again.

mindsystem

If you are really seriuos about this, check out Elements of Design by Rowena Reed Kostellow. It has a bunch of good exercises (so I hear), but I also hear that without one of her former students or herself looking over your work, it’s not as effective.

http://www.amazon.com/Elements-Design-Kostellow-Structure-Relationships/dp/1568983298