Not-For-Profit refuses to pay student designer

Here is the story, I am a student running an independent business and I have been working for a not-for-profit organization for a year now (I am not sure about slander laws so I will not name them as of yet) when a situation arises. I completed a news letter for them of which I have done 3 prior, all received with compliments including the present one. They signed off on it and had it printed. When I invoiced them, they told me that the cost was to high and the quality was bad (it’s the same as all the others) and that I had to prove to them that I worked all the hours I said I did. They requested to see my time sheet, I provided this. The time sheet shows that I saved them $80.00 or so. A month goes by and I do not hear from them, so I give them a call and talk to some one who tells me that it is “industry standard for them to be able to review my hours and then tell me what they will pay me” well an argument ensues and this person hangs up on me and that’s it.
Do you have any advice for me? By the way I am out about $400.00 because of this incident.

Have you ever had a problem where in some one did not pay for work ?

Did you have a contract, or any other piece of paper to set out details of the agreement to do work for them? If so, then if there’s nothing about them being able to review your hours and tell you what they will pay you (and I seriously doubt you’d sign it if there was) you should be ok. If not, then the fact that they accepted similar work before with no problem should be in your favour if you want to take it to court, however for $400 it’s a question of whether it’s worth it in court fees etc.

Whether there is or isn’t a contract, you might want to run it all past a bailiff (I don’t know what the US equivalent is). Some of them will even buy the debt from you, that is they pay you what you are owed and then chase the debtor for the money.

Regards,
Justin
:slight_smile: