Non school ID Education! How do I become a product designer?

I start with the question and take the background afterwards :slight_smile:

Is there any videos/DVDs about ID and Product design that shows the fundamentals, how to approach a project, maybe walkthroughs, what to think of and so on, Ive searched but couldnt find anything?

Im new to ID and Product design but have never in my life found something that feels so right. It really brings together all my favorite areas from artistic creativity to technical engineering and business processes, marketing and value creation. It would be my dream to work in this field and even if I may have much to learn I really wanna go for it 100%.
I already have a degree in business/economics and Im really eager to start working so 4 more years of studies isnt really an option.
Im reading as much as I can about design but find it very time consuming and want more hands on instructions, tips and techniques so thats why I ask about video material.

Also what kind of knowledge etc is necessary before I even start thinking of applying for an ID job?

Any help is most appreciated
Thx for listening!
/AquaStealth

I think you’ll find it’s going to be very difficult to accomplish what you want without some kind of formal education. Design is a large collection of skills both tangible (sketching, graphic design, CAD modelling, physical modelling/prototyping), and knowledge based (problem solving, manufacturing processes, materials, technology, user research and testing).

If you want to go for it 100%, I’d suggest considering a masters degree. There are lots of resources out there on individual subjects, but very few that really walk through the complete process. The one video that comes to mind was called “The Deep Dive” and was an ABC news special showing a good portion of the design process: ABCNEWS Store