Non-design jobs for someone with a design education

I am a recent graduate in Environmental Design (non professional Industrial Design.) I started my college career studying engineering and material science. My research in composite materials has been used in 7 research publications. I am now at a point where I need to figure out what to do next. I am very technical minded and did not know what I was getting into when I chose to major in design (I expected it to be more research/computer based and not as much art and hand drawing based.) When I started studying design, I had absolutely no artistic ability. After a lot of hard work, my drawing and rendering skills are now passable, but not nearly competitive enough to land a design job. I applied to two ID grad programs, but unfortunately I did not get in due to GPA (engineering screwed me up.) I got into a masters in Design Management at SCAD (I made a post related to this), but the cost of the program is a major concern.

My question to you guys is what should I do next? I would like to get a job immediately, but I am having trouble identifying a non-design career path which I could apply my undergraduate education to. I really do love design, and I would give anything to be able to communicate my ideas better visually, but with the industry being so competitive and with the economy being twisted, I dont think it is realistic that I will end up being a practical designer. So what kinds of non-design jobs do you guys think I should look at?

I would like to add that if I do not find a job, the Design Management program is for sure my backup option. I really dont want to go back to school for engineering either. I need something which I can apply my creative and technical advantages to.

my drawing and rendering skills are now passable, but not nearly competitive enough to land a design job.

this I don’t understand, and I hear it everywhere. Why is everybody freaking out about the drawing??