No internship... Now what?

So, Ive done it! I graduated, with honors, and a study abroad program! But alas, no in house internships. What should I do now? Should I pursue an internship… Maybe I have what it takes to do freelance? I’m not sure!

Feel Free to check out my Coroflot: http://www.coroflot.com/carldesign What do you think?

Boy am I nervous about this lame economy!

Boy am I nervous about this lame economy! What do you think?

I think I’m nervous about this lame economy too… … . .

Freelance, internships, full time ID, part time ID. It will take a whole lot of hard work. A degree means nothing.

Maybe I have what it takes to do freelance?

Quite easy to work out if you’re up to standard. A few searches on Coroflot will be able to tell you what companies look for, should answer all your questions.

Hmm, sounds like I didn’t make my original post very clear.

Through out my school, I didn’t land any internships. Now that I have graduated, which direction should i dedicate myself to, Freelance OR the internship?

Much obliged!

Even those of us with jobs are nervous about this economy.

I am a SCAD grad too and I have to say if there is any criticism I would give to that school it would be that they do not have a mandatory internship program but that does not mean you are screwed. My advice is to take what you can get. Any experience is good experience and do not limit yourself to consumer products. If you are offered graphic or CAD work, take it. It will keep you fresh and pay the bills.

Post grad internships are always good. You can get started and maybe even be hired later. Also, I think post grads seem to have a bit more responsibility than those who are still in school.

D.

Through out my school, I didn’t land any internships. Now that I have graduated, which direction should i dedicate myself to, Freelance OR the internship?

Don’t JUST look for internships.

Look for everything, like I had mentioned above.