Nissan Pivo 2005 vs Student design 2001

Hi, other designers out there.
I would like to hear your opinion about my grad project in 2001 and Nissan Pivo concept car in 2005.
Last year my old classmate emailed me asking if I had seen the Pivo that looked so much like my design.
I was quite surprised about the similarities and sent an email to Nissan America. I’ve got a response saying that they will contact their design studio
in Japan to inquire about the design. But I haven’t heard back and forgot about the whole incident until another friend of mine told me again about the Pivo design’s resemblance to my work.
Well, there could be many similar designs and I understand that as a designer myself.
But I’m curious about other designers’ opinions because these two designs are very similar.
Could it be just a coincidence?
Here is the link to the images of my design vs Nissan Pivo side by side.

http://ca.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/jaedalf/detail?.dir=/b3b3scd&.dnm=4e87scd.jpg&.src=ph

I’m looking forward to hear your opinion.

That’s too close to be coincidence. If it was something like saying the new Toyota Camry resembles the new Impala, I’d say it’s just coincidence. But these concepts are very unique and incredibly similar.

I’d guess that one of their designers saw your design, stored it away in their head and used it as inspiration for their own concept. Flattering, I suppose.

Before we start jumping to conclusions, let’s get all the facts. Did you present your concept at a show at school? Do you happen to know any of the designers currently at Nissan? Do any of them attend that show?

Let’s not let this turn into the Kestrel/Orbea ordeal.

I personally don’t think that the form is very unique, therefore I think it’s more of a coincident. Perhaps what will be more important is if your concept behind your project shares any similarity with the Nissan concept.

i agree with the cow…

I have seen that approach for years, even back in the 70’s for micro cars.