New Services

Ok,

Ive been doing industrial design work for my company for a few years now and I was recently asked to take care of some updates on the company website. I did this and also made a small flash intro for the site. Here’s the problem, someone at the office decided that my work was pretty good and has now started selling the firm as having web design services without informing me of this.

Normally I wouldn’t care about doing some work that was slightly outside the normal core business for the company, but this seems a little extreme. Especially since I am the only one in the office capable of doing the work and they are selling god knows what as my capabilities.

Anyone have thoughts on this or am I just crazy?

If it where me, I would sit down with the principal(s) of the firm and have a straight out discussion

first I would ask them if they planned on hiring a webdesigner (just to make sure, you don’t want to go in with afterburners on not knowing the whole story)

Then I would tell them that I agreed to helping out on the company website, and perhaps I would have agreed to make it a billable service, but not when you didn’t have the consideration to consult me about it.

I would ask how much ime they saw it taking away from doing product design, and if it is more than you would like I would tell them and probably start looking for another job.

I am a bit over sensitive to respect issues in the work place, but I don’t think anyone would think it would be cool to be jerked into another feild without having at least complimentary consideration for your own prefrence thrown in.

2cents

I would expect a salary adjustment.

Your employer is adding web development to their list of capabilities. If you are the only one on staff that has any experience in this field and you are solely responsible for this addition to their capabilities, you should expect some sort of “reward”.